No Cost raised Beds

The raised bed in the pic is a work in progress. You’ll see that cardboard is laid down as a weed barrier. This paper from my online ordering like chewy and amazon. Not only does the paper make a fair weed barrier but worms LOVE cardboard. Nothing is better for the garden than worms! On top of the cardboard is grass clippings. Several Ag schools have found that grass clippings contain a lot of solvable nitrogen. I dislike mowing and I hate fertilizing the yard with anything. So I gather the clippings and lay them in my raised beds.

Next I add kitchen waste, yes all those coffee, and tea grounds peelings and eggshells and whatever else. The worms love this stuff also.

The sides are scrub trees cut on the backside of the property. In a few years most likely they will have decayed. Then I’ll find some other material. But with this home quarantine I have plenty of time. This bed is 12 X 4. 48 square feet of soon to be delicious plants and can be planted year round. In a few days I’ll have my heirloom tomatoes set in with companion plants.

Don’t forget to sign up to follow and receive updates.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close